My Home Office in a Small Space

Time for Office Space! No not the film. And not the television show either. Sorry to get your hopes up. That’s fun, but I hope my home office will be more fun and  updated than the office decor in that film and way cooler than in that television show (British and American).

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

This space was my dad’s old room. How weird is that. This was even on the closet door. Don’t worry, I took it off. I’m not that sentimental. No, I didn’t throw it away, I gave it to my dad. I’m not that heartless. Geez what kind of person do you think I am? Just kidding.

If you want to see what the entire office looked like before, check out my previous post here.

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

This is what the closet door looks like now. It’s so much happier. I like wood, but there was so much of it in this small space with the floor and it is a pretty orangey stain. The white really freshens it up and we put a fun knob on from Anthropologie for a folky look.

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

And the space isn’t just a home office, we want to make it into a sort of an office/den/workout/hangin’ out area. Right now Derek and I watch “This Old House” on my 13″ laptop. Certainly not ideal. We don’t really want just a television either. It seems like it’d just be an outdated appliance taking up room, so instead we are saving up for a MAC desktop computer. Then we can use it for many things. And we’re going big, because why not, especially if we’re going to watch TV and movies on it.

That’s not it’s sole purpose either. My laptop is great, it’s definitely been a workhorse for me. And I’m sorry to say it has taken quite the beating over the years. Sorry laptop and sorry I never gave you a proper name. I think a new desktop will be better equipped to handle more Photoshop, more Illustrator, more photos etc. And I vow to keep it organized and clean! Vows are serious business.

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

The couch is from Ikea obviously. The Stocksund loveseat. I had been fixated on the red one for quite some time and had envisioned it in the office since we moved in. I also knew we would keep the walls white (in the office at least) and so I wanted to bring in some vibrancy in the furniture.

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

This chair I am using at the moment is amazing! Derek was so reluctant to put this in the office at first. When we moved in, the chair was in the basement and had been buried in rubble. It was disgusting and it also had this weirdo set of stairs attached to the bottom. I imagine it was initially a high chair for children and the steps were there so they could climb up. And it was dirty.

I saw it and knew right away I wanted it in a room somewhere and the height of this supposed desk is taller than most. Somehow this chair is at the perfect height for the desk. AND it matches this set of three stools I took from my parents house. I love the metal and the shape of the back of it. It’s more comfortable than it looks. I can’t get my legs completely under the desk either, but I attribute that problem to this custom dresser/desk thing and not a problem of the chair.

One day soon I hope to dismantle this built in desk. Everyone seems to be against it, but I don’t care, I’m standing up for what I believe in. It was originally built for my dad as a dresser. We don’t need that many drawers for anything. I mean we have filled most of them but with old DVDs we could probably stand to get rid of. Because the drawers don’t get much use, things think they can live in there. Also known as my worst nightmare. Plus there is quite a large closet. Plus there are things you can buy called filing cabinets. Plus if this was ever turned into a bedroom again there are these things called dressers. I’d prefer something more multi-use.

Of course some final touches are still needed. I like to hang a plant somewhere, get a shag rug and maybe a side table and shelves. It will all fit, just need to find the right size for everything.

We have basically kept all the original character in this house. Is it so wrong of me to ask for one and half feet of extra room in this tiny office? And get rid of the honking desk. Plus it’s got this weird laminate on top. I mean we painted it so it’s better, but you know…ew. The vent in the desk for the radiator is definitely staying. The cats sleep on it. These are my priorities haha.

How I set up my home office. Sarah Skry. Niagara. Toronto. Hamilton. Niagara Falls. Niagara Region.

There is one catch with removing the desk. The floor doesn’t continue underneath, and needless to say this is some pretty one of a kind flooring we got. Either we scavenge thrift stores looking for suitcases with wooden bottoms or we come up with another solution. If you have no idea what I’m talking about I’ll refer to here.

It is my feeling that we can make it super cool without trying to match the impossible. Only Tommy from This Old House could do that (I may be a little obsessed). What I thought was we could make a transition with tile like this. Again so many nay sayers. The nay sayers say that can only be used as a room division. Well I say they’re wrong! Help me out readers, what do you think?

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Home Office in a Small Space

  1. Wilma Snippe says:

    Sarah, is it possible to just dismantle the drawer that blocks your legs? If you cut that away, you’ve got so many problems solved without costing anything. The desk looks pretty streamlined and will be useful over the years. Maybe just a new top on it. ….

    • sarahskry says:

      We were considering that. I think it is a good option too to try and remove the drawer for leg space. I’m not sure replacing the top is going to be an easy job because it is built in. There was a desk built into the mud room and it was attached to the wall and with it being under the window it may pose some problems. The top is pretty good since being painted.

Leave a Reply

