Finished Bathroom!

The time has come for my finished bathroom reveal! Finally. It is 2016 now, which makes it more important for me to get this post up now otherwise it will feel like it will never happen.

It has taken nearly a whole year altogether to get this bathroom finished completely. From demo to finish. I was kind of hanging on for some last finishing touches, but I don’t want to rush finding certain items soooooo…Let’s get on with it! Here’s the Before + After.

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

The bathroom was seriously a team effort. Our family was so helpful it was great.

We did try to save what we could, which turns out isn’t much. If you can believe it the bathroom had been updated at some point since 1945 with some wicker details in the bathroom vanity and mirror. It was legitimately hanging on by a nail and some sketchy electrical installed through it. It needed to go. The new medicine cabinet is from Home Depot and I liked it because I thought it mirrored the window that is latched in the bathroom.

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Gord helped us install the lights which I love. Originally I wanted them facing downward, it was his suggestion to have them facing up. It made the most sense with the height they are at and makes the bathroom feel larger in my opinion. He helped with all of the electrical, which helped us save massively.

Derek and I made the shelves above the toilet with some old wood we found in the garage. I bought the brackets from Home Hardware and the light fixtures are from Ikea. We had hooks from my apartment in Toronto that we got from Home Depot and I wanted to use them to hang towels on. I had it in my mind that I’d like the same hooks in the Mudroom to hang coats on and that this way the hooks, shelves and brackets would match our coffee table in the living room that was originally in my first apartment too!

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

My hope was to make our home more cohesive, I hope.

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

He also put the drop curved ceiling in, it is such a nice detail in the bathroom and the curved shower curtain rod that helps emphasize it.  It mimics the curve on the tub as well. And honestly while standing inside the bathtub it, this detail makes it feel like a much larger space than it is. If I keep saying that throughout this post it’s because it’s true! And I’ve never felt so lucky than when I’m standing in my tub showering. I love it all.

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

That detail along with keeping some of those older things original to the house is what helps make it home to me. Blending the new and the old. Like the original light fixture. Or the scale, which still works by the way! It just needed some cleaning.  It’s more there for looks and fun than use though.

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

We kept all the towel rods that are original to the house. We only used one full one for hand towels. Derek had a perfect idea for re-purposing the other rod that was under the window. We were looking for the perfect toilet paper holder that would match the hardware we had. No luck. Derek cut the towel rod and put it back together so that it was perfect for holding toilet paper. It’s the best.

Oh the tile! I love all the tile! Derek toiled with the tile in the bathtub surround and we both did the floor tile. If you want some tips check out our post on installing hex tile here.

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

I really wanted a niche. And I wanted it tiled. I can’t even explain to you why, it seemed like something to me that was only in luxurious bathrooms for some reason. Maybe it was all of the home reno shows I watched that always installed one. Or all the Pinterest photos of bathrooms that had them. I really wanted one and I got one. Thanks Gord! I know you were reluctant about us tiling it because of water penetration concerns, but it looks great and it stays very dry. We did angle the tile slightly, but where it is located in the shower, the water doesn’t even hit it. That’s a sea sponge by the way. I use it instead of a loofa.

Some things we wanted to add as finishing touches? Well It would be nice if we could find a small stool for beside the bathtub for clothes or whatever. Right now I’ve been setting them on top of the toilet—not so elegant but it works right? We found a chair but it was too big. We both would like a larger, fuller vine plant to place on top of the mirror but for now I am just propagating a small pathos plant.

That’s it!

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Before and After Bathroom Renovation with hexagon tiles. 1945. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

So Yay! to another year gone and a new one ahead. Here’s to more “after” posts this year! I hope you all had a good new year and I hope you stick with me and my blog neighbour.

 

6 thoughts on “Finished Bathroom!

  1. Janessa S says:

    I’m so in love with your bathroom. I’ll admit I wasn’t convinced that all that work would be worth it but it totes was. And the plants really make the room something special. Go team!

Leave a Reply

