Lime Green Extreme?

Lime green too extreme? No way! Not in my humble opinion anyway. I love it! I really didn’t at first though. We bought some cheaper paint from Home Hardware. We’ve bought other coloured paint there, but mostly off whites and pale yellows. For the lighter colours they used a white base and for this green colour they used a clear base. I have no idea what this means but the clear base seemed to make the paint thinner and didn’t cover nearly as well. And after 3 coats there are still spots that drive me crazy. Perhaps one day we will repaint it with better paint. Now we know better. That’s how we learn right!

The paint was Beauti-Tone and the name of the colour was…are you ready for this? Drum roll pease…Viva Las Vegas! It’s funny that they name the paints. I think it is nicer they have names, but Derek for instance can get hung up on the name if it is a particularly cheesy one. I admit it is hard to dissociate the colour from its name sometimes.

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

We painted only two walls as a sort of compromise. Initially I had wanted to paint all three walls green and paint the wall that continues into the hallway an off white. Derek thought that might be a little much and as we drew closer to painting day I was questioning my judgment even though I had the swatches on the wall for over 5 months. Right before buying the paint I asked Derek if he was sure—he was slow to answer so I shouted, “Well it’s too late. “We both laughed. Anyway, because we were both hesitant and the wall that the window wall is hardly seen because of the curtains we decided to paint that off white as well and just have two walls green.

Around the trim and along the ceiling was the most difficult to get good coverage, with a brush the paint just went on so thin and it wasn’t much better with the roller. And because we had to put so many coats on, when we peeled the tape off some of the paint came with it.

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Everything else in the living room is the same as before except for two new additional pieces of furniture and a plant. We got a couple of chairs from my Aunt Trudy and Uncle Eddie. They had four of these mid century looking chairs and were nice enough to give us two. Perhaps at a later date and in a later post we can reupholster the chairs and clean them up. They’re in pretty good shape now though and very comfy.

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

The second new piece of furniture is this mid century looking credenza or media console. We found it on Kijiji. It did take some time though I had been checking Kijiji in my area for a console like this but they were all priced pretty outrageously. I checked about every 2 days to see what was new and finally found this one. It wasn’t necessarily what we ideally wanted, but it was close enough and has immediately proven itself useful. Everything that was hanging out on our coffee table or on the floor we can now put in here, hidden away.

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

I was so excited to get a new large tree/plant for the living room and after all the trends and pinteresting and looking on apartment therapy I obviously wanted a Fiddle Leaf Fig Tree. I got a simple pot from Home Depot and the tree was from a local greenhouse. My mom was nice enough to call around for one. I told her what I wanted and she had never heard of it. Since it wasn’t a massive priority of mine she took it upon herself to check for me. How nice!

Choosing quality paint. mid century. sarah skry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

I love it but am a bit sad that it isn’t doing to well. The leaves are browning and some have been falling off from the bottom. After looking online it seems like a pretty common problem with many different solutions. Maybe more light? Maybe more water? Maybe less water? Repot into a larger pot? I’m not sure. I’ll keep an update if I figure out what is going on and keep track if there’s any improvements. Fingers crossed.

IMG_5426

IMG_5425

Again, if anyone has any advice for plant care PLEASE  let me know. I want to improve what little green thumb I have. Or if anyone has a Fiddle Leaf Fig themselves. Or if anyone has succulent tips. Anything really for indoor plants! Hope to hear from some of you.

That’s all for now. There is a gallery wall in the works and some styling neither of which I have ever done before! Exciting times. Thanks for reading. Hope to catch you next time.

5 thoughts on “Lime Green Extreme?

  1. happyhometherapist says:

    Cool green! Somehow it feels right with your modern furniture pieces. I think with some other fun-colored accessories, too, things will just really come together.

    I had thought about getting a Fiddle Leaf Fig, as well. Though, I have cats that chew on everything (including faux plants sometimes) and I’m not exactly a green thumb… Oh well. Only for the best, I suppose.

    • sarahskry says:

      Thanks so much 🙂 I am thinking of including a pale poppy red as the accent colour here. I can’t wait to get my hands on some nice cushions and things.
      I know they are very persnickety trees for the indoors. I think I may have to relocate it. My cats don’t seem to bother with it too much though.

    • sarahskry says:

      Thanks Megan:) At first it was more lime than I had thought it would be. I was hoping more of an olive colour. Oh Well! I really like it now and definitely think it’s a lot more fun

Leave a Reply

