Liebster Award Nominations!

liebsterlogo_readyThis blog post will be quite a bit different from my normal posts. Since starting blogging I have come across so many welcoming and encouraging people in this community. I was fortunate enough to e-meet Megan from Made By Megan Mae, and my very first blogger friend, who was gracious enough to nominate me for this award. I’m over the moon about it.

So what I’m going to do is answer the questions Megan posted over on her blog along with eleven random facts about myself. And the best part of this award; I will be nominating five other super amazing wonderful fantastic blogs that also deserve recognition. There will be lots of links throughout. Don’t forget to click! Let’s get to it.

1. I worked at a cemetery cutting grass as a summer student job. That’s where I met my partner Derek.

2. I was born in Brazil.

3. I was adopted as a baby. My family is my family.

4. I am a curly girl. That’s right, I have curly hair.

5. I used to do gymnastics. I still love it.

6. I started doing Yoga this year watching  Yoga with Adriene on YouTube. I can’t image my life without it now.

7. I have two cats. Charlie and Chewy. I love them lots and would start a cat sanctuary if it were practical for me at this time in life.

8. I have a relentless sweet tooth.

9. I don’t have a lot of patience. I’m working on that.

10. I love watching television and would like to start writing about television series on the blog. Any thoughts? Tell me in the comments.

11. I live for summer. Can’t get enough sunshine.

If you could wake up tomorrow with the education, skills, and certifications necessary to perform any job, what would you choose for your new career and why?

I think I’d like to be a biologist or ecologist of some kind. Something to do with science, the environment and animals. Like David Suzuki, he’s so great and Canadian.

What is your favourite thing to blog about and why?

So far I am really enjoying blogging about the home renovation process. Mostly fixing up an old home and restoring what we can. I’m open to blogging about other lifestyle and living stuff.

What do you do to recharge and get back into the blogging frame of mind?

Often times taking photos helps me get into the blogging frame of mind. I like to take pictures first before writing a post, that way when I go to write it I have a sequence of visuals in my head and what picture needs to come first. If I have nothing the take photos of yet, I take a look around my house or go for a walk and think about what I’d like to write about next. Sometimes I’ll create several drafts with a title and then come back and write a post. And reading other blogs! That always helps get me back into the blogging frame of mind.

What is one thing in your life that you’ve gotten to experience that you wish everyone else could experience as well?

Growing up I really enjoyed participating in sports. I was lucky enough to be able to participate in sports in and outside of school and I believe it played a huge part in the making of the person I am today. And I know not everyone is so lucky and blessed to have that opportunity. Having many great coaches who challenged me mentally and physically, inspiring me is something I wish everyone had a chance to experience.

Who is inspiring you at the moment and why?

These five bloggers I’m nominating at then end of these questions! And I have to also say the women from Skillcrush–the creators and the teachers. I’m still struggling through a course of theirs, but they have definitely made coding easy and accessible for many people. In my hometown Beechwood Doughnuts and Rise Above. Both places are exclusive to St. Catharines bringing great vegan food to the area and much needed awareness to veganism and the importance of small business.

What is the best meal you’ve ever eaten?

Hmm this is difficult. I like food but I prefer sweets and desserts. I think fish and chips is my favourite thing to order when I’m eating out. But I also loooove Mexican food so much. There’s a great Mexican Restaurant in my town called Chile & Agave. Soo good. Good drinks, good food, good dessert. Oh man this is hard. I also love thai food and greek food.

Describe your perfect day.

It’s sunny obviously. Shorts and a tank, out in the garden gardening or at the beach. But it would be nice to be able to be outside accomplishing something in the sun at my house, so yes something in the garden. And then watching something like Game of Thrones while eating air popped popcorn in the evening.

What is one modern convenience that you could really not live without?

A finished bathroom. As some of you may know the current bathroom situation in our lives. A clean place to shower and go to the toilet haha. A nice, clean bathroom is certainly not a necessity as I have realized while renovating the bathroom. But it certainly is much more enjoyable to have a finished bathroom.

What is one thing that people would be surprised to learn about you?

I’m shy at first and can be quiet so I think it is surprising to some that I talk very loudly and even yell at times when excited or angry or while watching television. Or that I’m pretty tough even though you can be tough and small at the same time. Hm I’m not sure. When you get to know someone lots of things can be surprising. Humans are complicated.

If a movie were made about your life, who would be best cast to play you?

At first I was going to say an unknown actress. But then I thought Maya Rudolph would be good. Or a male actor, like how in I’m Not There Cate Blanchette played Bob Dylan. Maybe Jake Gyllenhaal.

Who should read your blog and why?

I’d like to think anyone could read it. But particularly people who are interested in DIY, home renos and home decor because you know, that’s what I write about—so far. Hopefully there will be much more content to come in the future. Everyone stay tuned.

Thanks again to Megan from Made By Megan Mae for the nomination, inspiration and encouragement. Seriously go check out her blog!

Here are my five nominations in no particular order:

1. Taciana Lira Silva. Culture and Me

2. Emily Lopez Robinson. Crossing Fronteras

3. Tiyana. The Happy Home Therapist

4. Sarah Reimer. You Me and Tuscany

5. Chelsea. The Dancing Runner

Don’t forget to click on these five blogs I love to read. Show them some love. That’s what this post is all about. Go forth and explore! Click.

 

 

 

One thought on “Liebster Award Nominations!

  1. Megan Mae says:

    I’m so happy I was nominated for this originally because now I’m learning even more about my favorite bloggers AND other great blogs 🙂 We both appreciate a gorgeous, sunny day!

Leave a Reply

