Bathroom To Be Continued…

Hi Neigbour,

Oh my goodness! It has nearly been a month since my last blog post. AHHH! Apologies to the readers I do have. I haven’t forgotten you though I promise, I think of you often. The reasons for the mini hiatus are good though! I’ve been busy with the bathroom and helping my mom with some things while my dad was in Greece. Lucky guy eh? He was there for two weeks. Then Derek had this past week off and that was a whirlwind.

Just prepping the bathroom seemed to take a really long time before any tiling could begin. We did tear down two walls though so I suppose that makes sense. Because Derek’s step dad has a full time job and was helping us in the evenings, during those times he wasn’t working away, we tried to keep his workspace clean of debris and busy ourselves with other house things. One bathroom related task was removing the wall paper. It kind of seemed like one of those things that is low on the priority list for the bathroom considering everything else we are doing. And because painting the bathroom will not happen until after tiling is done. But it was better to do it then instead of waiting until we needed to paint.

Removing wallpaper, especially really old wallpaper is a colossal pain in the ass. I did recruit some helpers after trying to tackle it myself. Everyone’s advice seemed to be the same. “Oh just do a little bit at a time” “Be sure to soak it with soapy water first and let it seep in for a few minutes” “Just spray section by section and it will come off”. Sorry to those who offered this advice but nothing made removing the wall paper easy. I did take everyone’s advice and ultimately the paper did come off in the end. Removing the wallpaper seemed to be a soul crushing task in that “WOW! This is coming right off” followed seconds later by “What am I doing wrong? What am I doing with my life?” Some sections would fall off and a section right beside it, crumbs and slivers, I’d have to scrape the wall to get the paper off. It was very trying.

Eventually I had to remove the vanity. My mom helped. When it was finally removed, I discovered that the current wallpaper was an update. The removal of the vanity revealed the original wall paper. Dun Dun Duuuuuuun! Crazy. It was no less hideous. Not only is wall paper difficult to remove, it’s difficult to apply. I find it hard to believe that my grandparents chose, on two separate occasions, to put up wallpaper. Oh well. Don’t get me wrong I love a funky wall paper. Rifle & Co. has sweet wallpaper. I love the wallpaper on steps for an unexpected pop of colour. But I don’t know. After removing this wallpaper I’m not sure I would be able to bring myself to put it on a wall.

This is the updated wall paper.

1945 character home bathroom reno. Livingroom progress. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

This is the original wall paper.

1945 character home bathroom reno. Livingroom progress. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Some of the other things included removing the old washer and dryer from the basement. Those were some seriously steep steps and old appliances used to weigh a ton! I don’t know what we’d do without my dad and his pick up truck either. Any trash we accumulated during the renovation has been hauled away in his truck. This has been helpful because we haven’t needed to spend the money to rent a dumpster or pay anyone else to take stuff away.

Anyway back to the bathroom. I requested a niche in the shower so that I don’t have to use the sides of the bathtub to put things like hair conditioner bottles and so forth. I never liked that when I have had to clean a tub all kinds of dirt gathers there. Here is Gord and Derek strategizing the placement of the tiles for the niche.

1945 character home bathroom reno. Livingroom progress. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

1945 character home bathroom reno. Livingroom progress. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Also, the bathroom didn’t have a fan. Opening the window isn’t an option in the winter. For one it is far too cold and two the storm windows will be in so there won’t be a screen.

1945 character home bathroom reno. Livingroom progress. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Gord was also able to wire in places for the switch for the fan, and a place for two sconces and the switches for those. Super helpful!

1945 character home bathroom reno. Livingroom progress. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Things are beginning to look a lot like a bathroom. And the amount of space created from pushing back that shower wall is incredible. That’s it for now I suppose. I think I will post another brief bathroom update this week to make up for lost time. Thanks for being patient. Talk to you later neighbour.

 

Leave a Reply

