Living Room Progress

I thought while the bathroom is being completed I’d share with everyone what the house looks like so far. It has been extremely enjoyable to imagine the many possibilities for each and every space in this house and outside of it, but after a point you have to let some of that go and have a space that is functional and conducive for living. Otherwise, you may begin to lose it. I’m not going to lie, it has been difficult to let go and let certain areas remain the same.

Right now I would say the room that is the most together is the living room. It is closest to the way I imagine it will look like when completed.

Midcentury update. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

If you read my post two weeks ago, you may recognize a lot of the furniture from my first apartment in Toronto. This is the Karlstad sofa from Ikea. Seriously, the best sofa! It just works in any space, it’s simple, clean and you can easily change the feel of it when you change the accessories like cushions and throws. You can also change the legs if you really want, but I still like the legs. And we obviously don’t really have those finishing touches that cushions provide. We want a large painting above the couch and we plan on keeping the sconces. We will paint the space obviously. Those are swatches on the wall and I’m intent on going with an mossy olive green. There’s no talking me out of it, although you can feel free to try in the comments.

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

The rug is the Lohals rug from Ikea. We looked at many rugs and there were certainly ones I would have liked to have had, but they were just too expensive. Initially, Derek and I had talked about having a jute rug; however, there were concerns the cats would tear it up. Their scratching post has jute on it. Brace yourselves, I’m going to brag about my cats. The only place they scratch is on their posts. They have never scratched the furniture, but they did scratch carpeted steps once. They are the best. End of brag. Since the rug is flat though they haven’t really scratched at it. My mom was convinced they would scratch the rug and as we were entering the house I said, “Nope, they haven’t scratched it all all.” And as I just as I said it we walked in and saw the cat scratching the rug. To be honest I haven’t seen them scratch the rug since then, but I do think that cats are vindictive animals intent on proving their owners wrong. We decided to keep the rug anyway. We loved the different neutral tones in it, it is the perfect size for the room and it was great value for money considering its size. I also came across this post on Apartment Therapy. It offered a solution to the problem of not being able to afford the rug of your dreams in the size that you need. It suggested putting a smaller rug under a coffee table (the same coffee table from my old apartment) that is placed on top of the more affordable neutral rug. It adds some colour to the space and interest with layers. If I come across a smaller rug I like I will probably do this.

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Here is the Strandmon chair from Ikea, again from my first apartment, and now it has a partner—the Strandmon footstool. I like this floor lamp and how ornate the base is, but the shade has got to go. We’re having trouble finding a cylindrical shade that is long enough for the lamp. Tossing around the idea of getting a kit to make one ourself that will suit it. Any suggestions? Recommendations? Please leave me a comment, I need help! The footstool is great too because it allows one to lounge in the chair AND it acts as additional seating when we have company.

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Under the window is the same side table that I got from Kijiji. I love the snake plant. The planter is actually from my parents’ house. My mom used to take a ceramics class and she painted and glazed the planter herself. It was hiding in the spare room behind my childhood bedroom. I asked my mom if I could take it and she didn’t care either way. Last time she was over at the house and saw it under the window with the plant in it she said, “Hm Sarah I might have to take that planter back.” She was half joking. All it took was some new plant life and it looks great.

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

We’re still talking about the window treatments, but after a good wash they look as good as new. And they’re not completely awful so new curtains got bumped down on the list of priorities.

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

 

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

Now this side of the room there is a small laundry list of things I’d like for the space:

+ A side table

+A fiddle leaf fig tree

+A console

+A gallery wall

I want to have the gallery wall just above a console. Looking for something that will flow with the furniture and the coffee table. I’m having trouble finding a used one for a fair price somewhere though so we may just buy new depending on what the budget will allow. As for the gallery wall I’m having fun looking through paintings and considering incorporating photographs I have taken myself. Most importantly though I want to include a cuckoo clock. Where did I come up with that? Well my mom is from Germany and we went there as a family once. While visiting the black forest we went into a cuckoo clock shop. That’s fun to say, cuckoo clock shop. My parents ended up bringing one back for my grandparents and it remained in the living room until my Bubby passed away and the clock was returned to my parents. Since they already have a cuckoo clock of their own, I asked if the clock could be returned to its intended destination. So we’re getting a cuckoo clock.

Livingroom progress. Ikea. Ikea Karlstad Sofa. Ikea Strandmon wing back chair. Ikea lohals rug. restoring hardwood floors. sarahskry. Ikea furnishings. sarahskry. Hamilton, GTA, Toronto, and Niagara

The wall opposite the sofa continues into the hallway and so we will be painting that a neutral colour. We’re still uncertain of whether or not anything needs to be put on this wall. Keeping it bare may be best with the colour on the other walls and the gallery wall. I’m not sure. Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

That’s it so far for the living room. Stay tuned for other room updates. I think the master bedroom is next! See ya later neighbour.

 

2 thoughts on “Living Room Progress

Leave a Reply

